How to share or collaborate using Workflowy

Here is a video about how to share on Workflowy.  Please note, shared items can only be "created" via the web version or Chrome version, but accessed from any version of Workflowy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npJvU3l4onw

Each bullet can be shared individually if so desired, or any bullet with children.  With the free version, you can only create "public" URL's that can be sent to anyone via your own email.  With the Pro version, you can create password protected links that require the user to have an account to view or edit.  Once any shared link is viewed by another user, they will also have the option of adding (or embedding) that list into their own account by clicking a button that will appear towards the bottom of their screen.
Have more questions? Submit a request

5 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Patrick Cole

    Is it possible for someone who has a list that is shared to be notified by email when a user updates a possible assignment?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Mike Edwards

    One thing to clarify for users... You say "Once any shared link is viewed by another user, they will also have the option of adding (or embedding) that list into their own account by clicking a button that will appear towards the bottom of their screen."

    One key thing... you need to be signed into to the web version of Workflowy for this "button" to appear. You will be able to see the shared bullet/topics even if you are NOT signed into the web version. However, you will only see the button to add to your own account when signed into web version. Further, if you are only signed into the Workflowy "app" (as I typically am) the button also does not appear on the shared link/bullet webpage.

    Once you sign into the web version, the button appears at the bottom of the shared link/bullet and you can add the shared link/bullet to your account. The shared link/bullet then instantly appears in the Workflowy app version of your account.

    Took me a while to figure this out so thought I would share...

  • 2
    Avatar
    Jennifer S

    When I embed/add a shared workflowy to my own workflowy, do updates or changes happen to or through both lists?

  • 1
    Avatar
    Darby Sager

    1. If I share with someone, can they edit my outline?

    2. If I edit my outline after sharing, will those edits be reflected in the outline that was shared out?  ....   or is what I've shared a point-in-time snapshot?

    Thanks much!

  • 0
    Avatar
    Craig Faustus Buck

    I don't get any button on either the linked list or my home lists page to move the linked list to mine.

    I also don't see all my lists on my phone that I have on my computer, even though I am signed in on both with the same username/pw. I do see some of them, though, and they sync.

    Edited by Craig Faustus Buck
Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk