How do I remove a shared item without deleting it for everyone?

Comments

7 comments

  • Avatar
    Frank (Workflowy Support)

    Hi Miguel,

    The only way for your daughter to have her own independent copy of that list (while removing it from your WorkFlowy) would be to copy it from the list you created and shared with her in segments of less than 2000 nodes. As you've found, she can't move them out... but she should be able to copy and paste sections one at a time. To copy a section, she would just Alt+Click on the text of a list (which will highlight it)... and then she will be able to Ctrl+C > Ctrl+P to another part of her WorkFlowy. 

    I don't believe mirrors will play nicely when copied over to her own private list. Those might have to be built from scratch. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Miguel Tavares

    Hi Frank,

    Thanks for your help. We'll try that.

    I'll morph this thread into a feature request, now:

    When unsharing or deleting nodes, give users the option to let other people keep a copy.

    This would have avoided my problem altogether.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Frank (Workflowy Support)

    Hi Miguel,

    The way to have people keep their own copy is to duplicate the list. The one inconvenience is having to copy in sections when a shared list has more than 2000 nodes. 

    The main issue we have with shared lists is the creators of such lists wanting to un-share and remove their data from the accounts of others... and is a major concern to them... and in light of that, it is unlikely that we will actively encourage people to duplicate shared outlines that they are not the creator of. 

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Miguel Tavares

    I can understand that concern, but the **option** to let others keep a copy shouldn't upset those users, I think. If anything, dialogs like these could make it even clearer what happens when you delete/unshare a list.

    UN-SHARE NODE
    Do you want to let wf.user@gmail.com keep a copy of the list?
    [Let wf.user keep a copy] [Un-share and delete for wf.user]

    DELETE SHARED NODE
    Do you want to delete this list for you only, or for everyone?
    [Delete for me] [Delete for everyone]

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Frank (Workflowy Support)

    Hi Miguel,

    Thank you for the suggestion. It's much appreciated.

    Has your daughter managed to copy over all the lists to her account?

    If you try this again any time soon, I would suggest that your daughter share the list with you > you do some editing > your daughter un-shares the list.

    Your suggestions make sense, however we can't make any promises... because this is genuinely the first time we have come across this type of request. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Isaac Gutierrez

    Hi Frank,

    I would upvote Miguel's feature request.

    At my company, we recently had a big issue because of this. Let me summarize the story:

    -My former boss used Workflowy for all his management - we kept weekly boards and regularly planned and monitored projects using workflowy, kept our backlog of future projects, etc. He shared the main bullets (inside which we kept all of this) with our accounts/emails.

    -After he left, my new boss continued using these workflowy bullets, since they had all the history of the work we've done and the mechanic was already built.

    -Today, we find that my former boss, as the original owner of these shared bullets, removed them from his account. And we, with whom these bullets were shared, lost all of this history. And now we'll have to start it again from scratch.

     

    Do you see the huge issue this can be? There's probably more scenarios when the original owner of a bullet no longer wants it /needs it, but he does need a way for shared users to keep the bullet. Could you please add this to your backlog?

     

    Thanks and regards,

    Isaac

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Frank (Workflowy Support)

    Hi Isaac,

    I see the dilemma. The irony here is that most communication we get is on how to prevent others from copying data from the original shared list... and how to make sure that the date is erased for employees who have left. It's a tricky one, because what you're asking for is the opposite of what we're trying to ensure in terms of data security. 

    The simplest solution would be to duplicate or export a shared outline. The issue here is that it was forgotten who the owner of the list was... and so understandably it was not clear that when your old boss left that the data had to be duplicated.

    What I suggest is reaching out to your old boss and asking him to help you restore the data. He either unshared the list... in which case he could reshare until such time as the team has copied the data over... or if he has deleted the shared list, it can still be retrieved from his trash can.

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.