What are DropBox Backups?

The DropBox backups are a Pro feature and create daily backups to your DropBox "Apps" folder.  They can be enabled in your Settings.  The backups are not in a readable format, but can be sent to us if you wish to ever restore or access the data from the backups.  It does give our users extra peace of mind knowing they have their own local copy.  Eventually, we will allow users to perform self-restores...but that feature is not available yet. However we can perform restores for you, either from your DropBox backup, or from our own daily backups.

Have more questions? Submit a request

4 Comments

  • 1
    Avatar
    Alexandre Flet

    What is the diference between our DropBox backup, and your own daily backups? those are the same, kind of?

  • 0
    Avatar
    Gouthaman Karunakaran

    I have the same question as Alexandre. If I choose to turn on Dropbox backup on my Workflowy+ account, does that mean you would no longer have a copy of my notes on your servers or would my notes continue to exist in both places? 

  • 0
    Avatar
    Workflowy Support (Sasha)

    To clarify, Workflowy does entire daily backups of the entire database of all accounts for disaster recover purposes.  But Workflowy restores data for users in a different way. Items are that are deleted are truly not deleted from the database...they are just marked deleted but can be changed by the team to display again. DropBox backups are snapshots of a user's entire account.  So there is a difference.

  • 0
    Avatar
    Workflowy Support (Sasha)

    Turning on DropBox backups does not change the way Workflowy stores your data or their own backup process.

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk